Tuesday, November 24, 2009

BLACKROC Drops this Friday!!

As you all know Hip-Hop and Rock and Roll collaborating is nothing new... I can even take it back to the days of when Run Dmc collaborated with Aerosmith. Well this Friday, The Black Keys are releasing a album with 11 hip-hop artist! Peep the breakdown after the jump

11 days

11 artists

11 tracks

By: Diego Silva

This project was hinted at in June by a Jim Jones tweet, where he stated he was meeting with The Black Keys and Damon Dash to speak about a new project. The outcome was Blacrok, a blend of the Black Keys’ soulful blues/rock, Damon Dash’s expert production, and a selection of the top hip-hop and R&B artists in the game! The collaborations include: Jim Jones, Mos Def, Q-Tip, RZA, Raekwon, Ludacris, Pharoahe Monch, NOE, Nicole Wray, Billy Danze and the late Ol’ Dirty Bastard.

“I’m trying to look at a good business model, doing something that protect the artistry, but it’s lucrative, and a lot of people can get it without compromising the brain. That’s the hard thing, when you promote yourself, it’s corny, but you gotta do it, but do it in a way that’s correct, and that the music should speak for itself.” – Damon Dash

The album is set to drop on November 27, 2009, the “Black Friday” after the American Thanksgiving under the brand new label Blakroc, founded solely for this project. For fans of The Black Keys, they have been working on their own new material, and should be releasing a new album in 2010. Until then, keep yourself busy watching the videos on the Blakroc website, which include exclusive images of the studio sessions. Pre-order the album and watch the videos at the Blacrok website:

Here's the artwork and tracklising::::

1. Coochie
2. On The Vista
3. Hard Times
4. Dollaz & Sense
5. Why Can’t I Forget Him
6. Stay Off The F*%$#n’ Flowers
7. Aint Nothing Like You (Hoochie Coo)
8. Hope You’re Happy
9. Tellin’ Me Things
10. What You Do To Me
11. Done Did It


Here's the "live in the studio" web episodes:::

1 comment:

ZikPot said...

The best place for music fans to vote for their favorite music artists is finally here.